1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Writing reports while on maternity leave

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Rin, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Rin

Rin

I am a primary school teacher on a year's temporary contract working part time with a job share. I am due to go on maternity leave in the next few weeks. Reports are normally written at school around the May/June half term - I am planning to leave three weeks before this.

It has been mentioned to me that I will be expected to write the reports with my job share. However, can this be expected if I am on maternity leave and therefore not being paid in full? I only qualify for SMP as I am on a temporary contract so will be paid 90% as soon as I leave. I totally understand that it is not fair for my job share to write them and nor could my cover as she wouldn't know the children well enough - however, I also think it is probably unreasonable for me to write them whilst on maternity leave.

Does anyone know where I stand? I don't want to be difficult about it with the school and my job share is a friend so I also don't want to cause her more work. However, once I am on maternity leave and I know I will not be returning I know I will find it very hard to sit for hours writing reports.

2. Ruthie66

Ruthie66 New commenter