1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Writing process in ks2

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sarahlouxx, Jun 28, 2017.

1. sarahlouxx

sarahlouxx New commenter

Hi, I am new to ks2 this year but have the dreaded task of year 6 next year. I am concerned about how I am being asked to work.

In English they have a yellow English book which we work in most days and a purple book which is considered their independent book.

However, I am being asked to spend two weeks or three weeks building up this 'independent' work.
    For example they want me to write an opening of a story on one day (where one group does shared write with the teacher, one with a TA) and they whole class have it modelled beforehand, me to mark, them to edit and then spend Tuesday copying it up on their purple book. Repeat with with build up, next section and next section etC. until their purple books show a full story.

Apart from thing being very dull, how can I possibly say their purple books are independent?

Is this similar to what you do? Could you explain what you process looks like as I am struggling!!

2. sarahlouxx

sarahlouxx New commenter

Anyone want to help me out and explain what they do?

3. voiceoftruthandwisdom526

voiceoftruthandwisdom526 New commenter

I'm assuming that you are thinking that, because it is marked by you, the work cannot be considered independent?