1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Writing in Reception

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by hotandbothered, Jan 28, 2010.

1. I thought we were ticking along nicely, but I hear rumours that Year 1 are not happy with the writing from Reception. Hmmm, keeping calm and trying to find out what they are not happy with or it could just be a rumour and they are happy.
    I've only been in Reception a couple of years and readily admit I am not an expert. What writing are you doing? How often? How do you manage it? Any offerings greatly appreciated?
    Thank you, going to try & chill. [​IMG]

2. I also have just heard that the Y1 teacher has commented on how the standard of the children's writing when leaving Rec has dropped since we started the Foundation Phase (ie when I started in Reception...argh!)

3. And I heard that through the Head by the way. Cow, why couldn't she have raised any concerns that she had with me first?

4. WE do writing nearly everyday in reception weve been sounding out words and towards the end of the year they write sentances!!!!Its Independent and adult led

5. Our Y1 staff haven't been shy about complaining re handwriting, phonics and writing even tho our profile results are good. FS practice seems to be getting blame even tho we can list the endless things we do (and have always done) - the general assumption seems to be that they just play so they dont teach all the things we used to in Rec! If staff haven't approached you directly, ignore it. Have a quiet word with your FS coordinator and then carry on with what you're doing - maybe Y1 have unrealistic expectations of what children should be doing and need to change their practice!!

6. Kartoshka