1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Writing for student who struggles

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Wanderer007, Feb 19, 2011.

1. Wanderer007

Wanderer007 New commenter

Dear Primary posters,

I'm a secondary school teacher of sciences, and I teach a year 7 student who struggles enormously with his writing - forming the words and holding a pen to stuctrure his work. The thing is, he's an able student, and if I get him to focus on his writing in lesson - he'll miss out on his learning in lesson, or if the status quo was to continue then he'll progress with his learning but not get down as much structured workings out... storing up problems for later years. Do any of you have any suggestions I can try and help him with - I don't want to let this kid down and let him fall through the cracks!

I did think about maybe using a stress ball for his writing hand to help improve dexterity, but I have no experience of trying this.
    My thanks! [​IMG]

2. Wanderer007

Wanderer007 New commenter

Dear Primary posters,

I'm a secondary school teacher of sciences, and I teach a year 7 student who struggles enormously with his writing - forming the words and holding a pen to stuctrure his work. The thing is, he's an able student, and if I get him to focus on his writing in lesson - he'll miss out on his learning in lesson, or if the status quo was to continue then he'll progress with his learning but not get down as much structured workings out... storing up problems for later years. Do any of you have any suggestions I can try and help him with - I don't want to let this kid down and let him fall through the cracks!