1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Would love to hear from MFL teachers with young kids of their own

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by CravingSunshine, Sep 18, 2014.

1. I am an experienced teacher and returned to work recently after a 4-year break. I have 2 pre-schoolers at home and am finding manaing work and home tough as husband is away a lot with his work. The mental energy required to manage it all is challenging to the point where I am wondering if it's at the very least worth it, or even doable?

The behaviour-management at school can be tiring (low-level stuff which I find wearing) and I have lots of GCSE and A Level so the planning and marking load is heavy. The school is also quite pushy - aren't they all - and constantly demanding more.

Would love to hear from anyone in the same boat or if you know of anyone who left teaching and what they did next? I have lots of non teaching experience too but not sure where to go with it all...

2. jomaimai

jomaimai Established commenter

Dear CravingSunshine,

My 3 children are teens now. When they were little (I worked in another country, less paper work), it was challenging but possible. My husband has always worked and been away a lot. Since I moved to the UK, two years ago, I had been working in a school. Saturdays and sundays, evenings, holiday breaks, always working...and always that feeling of not having done all my homework. Last June I saw it, I could not and did not want to do it anymore. I thought my own children's GCSEs and A levels were more important. It is just a couple of years and they will be gone. Time goes fast. They need a relaxed mother and some control at home.