1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Would I be a bad mother if I increased my working hours?

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by mrsfabmoretti, Dec 17, 2011.

1. Hiya,
    LO is nearly 2 and I've been working 0.6 (three days) since going back after maternity leave. When I originally went to 0.6, I was a mainscale teacher. Since then, I've had two promotions and now have more responsibility at school, which I'm really enjoying. However, I am finding it difficult to fit it all in to three days, and would like to increase my working hours to 0.8 (across four days). I'd also prefer to have fewer split classes, and to be more 'in the loop' at work. Financially, it's not a necessity that I work four days.
    LO currently goes to my mum for two days and MIL for one day. OH and I have been considering starting him at a nursery anyway, for the social skills, wider range of activities, etc. We've noticed that he's not very good at playing independently, so this could help too. If I went 0.8, then LO would start nursery for a half day (as OH finishes early on the day he'd be in nursery).
    On the days off I have with my LO, I spend a lot of time keeping on top of the housework, as well as spending time with him. Hopefully, if I went 0.8, then we'd get a cleaner for a few hours, so I could focus more of my time off with LO.
    It all seemed to make sense to me and OH, until I mentioned it to my parents. They are currently not speaking to me, after calling me selfish and saying that I'm choosing my career over my son. They don't seem to understand, as my mum has never had to work.