1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Worth doing a masters?

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by captain_picard, Jul 18, 2018.

1. captain_picard

captain_picard New commenter

My degree is in History but I've had several years teaching English. I'm now looking to move up to HoD. Do you think my degree will hold me back? Do you think it's worth doing a masters in English in order to get a HoD role?

Thanks!

2. teacher4l1fe

teacher4l1fe New commenter

Definitely worth doing a masters to give yourself more credibility as a HoD, even if not in your current school if you want to move at any point will make life easier.

Saying that a masters isn't cheap and takes up a lot of time!

3. koopatroopa

koopatroopa Senior commenter

Don't do it just for the promotion prospects but I think it's a valuable qualification.

4. rachelsays

rachelsays New commenter

I've (almost!) finished doing my MA in an area of English literature part-time. It's been incredibly hard work. I've loved it, but juggling full time work (I'm already English HOD) and studying for a literature MA has not been easy and I've had to make a lot of sacrifices both personally and financially to get through it.