1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Worst supply day, Is teaching for me? (rant + advice)

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Rosie2278, May 25, 2019.

1. Rosie2278

Rosie2278 New commenter

I’ve posted this on the secondary forum but was advised to post on here too in the hopes I could get some more advice.

I’m a recent geog graduate not yet qualified with QTS but starting my teaching course next year. I’ve been doing supply for about a month, it’s been challenging at times but generally a fun experience. However a few days ago I had the worst lesson and it genuinely has me questioning if teaching is even the right career for me. Firstly, the lesson was with y10’s some of whom I’d taught so I made it clear to the other teacher in the department who would check up on me through the day that I would probably need his help. He agreed that he would pop in a few times in the lesson to ensure everything was going fine as he was aware of the troublesome class. I entered the classroom period 5 to a bunch of cheers all of the students were clapping and screaming as if they were at a football game apparently happy to see that I was teaching them. The min the other teacher left they started shouting out things like ‘your fit’ ‘date me’ and you’re ‘so young are you a sixth former’ etc. I told them to stop the comments and they laughed. Got them to start the work and three boys who often play up started saying silly comments. I got them out the classroom and had them removed. The rest of the lesson was fairly fine a bit loud but all except 1 were doing the set work. The kid who wasn’t doing the work came over to my desk and started opening the drawers. I asked him what he was doing and he