1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Worried about a mid-year start

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Angelil, Oct 19, 2015.

1. Angelil

Angelil Occasional commenter

I've been working in the international sector for 7 years but am looking to change school (within the same area) as I need a fresh start.

By chance, a school I've wanted to work in for a very long time has a post available. I have every confidence in the school as a former colleague (who's very experienced) now works there (if it's good enough for her then I definitely trust it!), and I was also very impressed by the school when I was previously interviewed there a few years ago (didn't have enough experience or a teaching qualification then though!). So I'm not in any way worried about the school itself and would be very happy to work there. I've therefore sent off my application and have fingers crossed.

This is despite guilt hitting me like a truck at about 2.00 this morning when I thought about ditching my final-year IB students (clearly midway through all their assessments and exam prep). The job has a January start and I am not convinced that my current school would be able to find someone experienced enough in the IB to replace me in time (they also have a history of just hiring anyone, regardless of experience, no matter how much time they have to recruit, and this is always a risky strategy).