1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Workload in International Schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by paul3b, Jan 30, 2016.

1. paul3b

paul3b New commenter

Hi Im currently a primary teacher in Manchester and finding the workload quite overwhelming. I was interested to find out what the workload is like in international schools if anyone has any info they could pass on that would be great :)

2. stopwatch

stopwatch Lead commenter

Sorry to disappoint, but you may well find that the 'workload' overseas is not a lot different. As many schools are fee paying, you will be expected to give your pound of flesh. In addition, many countries also have their own version of OFSTED along with 'OFSTED' inspections. In Dubai this happens once a year and is just as pressurised as in UK.

You will likely have to work long(er) hours too.

There may well be countries and schools which are more easy going, but the likelihood is that the salaries and packages in these schools reflect that.

The biggest bonus working overseas is that, on the whole, you do not get the same type of disruptive behaviour and lack of respect (from children and parents) that you get in UK.

Having said the above, there will always be teachers with 'beer in the hand, feet in the sand' approach who manage to duck and dive. If your conscience allows this, you could be one of them!

Klempt and JL48 like this.
  3. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter