1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Workload advice please - mfl teachers!

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by lady123, Dec 7, 2017.

1. lady123

lady123 New commenter

Hi,
    I could really do with some advice please.
    I am currently in my second year of teaching in a challenging secondary, this is after a spell teaching at a middle school and before that a primary school abroad. I have 16 years exp in total.
    Having been graded as outstanding for many years I have always put work first but I feel like I'm really struggling at the moment. I need to know whether my workload is normal or whether it's time to look else where.

I'm currently working every evening from 6.30 - 9.00 , also Friday Night, sat morning and sun afternoons.

1. I have 10 classes, I have to assess them once a half term, this marking workload I struggle with. I have to make a lot of my own assessments for my bottom sets as nothing is suitable for them.
    2. I have been asked to moderate other schools gcse exam work in the last week ( during my own assessment period).
    3. My nc s are taken off me so i can cover absent staff.
    4. The ks3 data I enter on Sims after an assessment i also have to enter on to a separate mfl tracker.
    5. I get frequent emails and messages about work in evenings and weekends.
    6. I found out yesterday thru email that my ks4 group, a bottom set, a group I have battled with, nurtured, made good progress with over a year and a bit, will now be split up. Apparently the year group are being reset after Xmas. Am devastated .
    There is more I could probably mention.

Can someone tell me if this is the norm please in mfl deps?

Thanks

2. parkert