1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Working visa / Z visa with postgraduate certificate and associate's degree?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by vincent1996maart, Apr 8, 2020.

1. vincent1996maart

vincent1996maart New commenter

Hello everyone,
    I'm 24 years old and I'm from Belgium.
    I have been toying with the idea to teach overseas and more specifically in China for quite a few years now.
    I have an associate's degree in paralegal studies and I also hold a postgraduate certificate in strategic management and leadership. I don't hold a formal bachelor's degree.
    Is there any possibility for me to obtain a Z visa / work visa in China?

I would like to teach English as a foreign language to Chinese high school students and primary school kids.

I am willing to get myself TEFL certified.

Kind regards,
    Vincent.

2. gilderbeast2000

gilderbeast2000 New commenter

With the TEFL you will find work in China. However, in the last few years they have toughened up their teaching visas. You will have to settle for a language centre or high school. The pay will not be great but if you are single it will be enough.

At the moment China is not issuing visas or processing documents for Z Visas due to the travel restrictions. If I were you I would wait until the pandemic is over before moving countries!

3. vincent1996maart

I should have been clearer in my initial post.
    I'm slowly starting to look around and plan to move next year.
    So plenty of time to plan everything well ahead.

I do have academic credentials. It's not like I have completely no education at all to show for.