1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Working overseas as a maths teacher

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by akay19, Nov 16, 2017.

1. akay19

akay19 New commenter

Hi. I am currently the Head of Maths at a UK secondary school and am in my 6th year of teaching. I am now planning to teach in Asia next year. I have a maths pgce and a maths enhancement course and am very competent at gcse and A Level maths (don’t have much experience of A Level though). The problem is I have a Law degree (2:1) and not a maths degree. What is the likelihood of getting a job in China or Singapore. Does anybody else have any experience doing the same? Do you think I would be able to get a HOD role? Thanks in advance.

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

the recruitment season for next year is well underway, and if you are thinking about moving abroad next year then i suggest you get your act together.

im sorry i cant help with the whole degree matching subject thing, i know some countries have it in place, and im unsure about China. Singapore its not a problem... the problem you will have though with Singapore is that the world wants to work there, and they get a huge amount of applications form all over the world.