1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Working out working hours on supply

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by laguna343, Mar 19, 2012.

1. laguna343

laguna343 New commenter

Hello, I was wondering if anyone had any clue as to how I should put down my working hours on forms etc. I've been trying to figure this out for some time and can't find any concrete information on the internet.

I'm paid in days or half days, not in hours. I usually work through the entire day from when I get to the schools at just gone 8 til I leave at 4ish depending on the school day and how much there is to sort out; but do you only count the actual length of the school day?
    Also being a supply teacher my hours can vary wildly from one afternoon to 4 full days.

More recently I've had quite a lot of work, but if I put down the number of hours I've worked based on that it seems really misleading as before Christmas my average hours were considerably lower.

When filling in forms to do with tax credits or whatever they all ask for the hours worked and I'm not sure what I should put. Is there anyone out there who knows and could enlighten me? I'd be very grateful

Thanks in advance

Ian

2. laguna343

laguna343 New commenter

Hello, I was wondering if anyone had any clue as to how I should put down my working hours on forms etc. I've been trying to figure this out for some time and can't find any concrete information on the internet.

I'm paid in days or half days, not in hours. I usually work through the entire day from when I get to the schools at just gone 8 til I leave at 4ish depending on the school day and how much there is to sort out; but do you only count the actual length of the school day?