1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Working in London?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by mbarnes1989, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Hi

I'm a final year BED student and I'm considering relocating to London for September 2011. Has anyone done this? And how are they finding doing their NQT year there (ie is it more stressful?)
    Thanks

Megan

2. Hi

I'm a final year BED student and I'm considering relocating to London for September 2011. Has anyone done this? And how are they finding doing their NQT year there (ie is it more stressful?)
    Thanks

Megan

3. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide

Many NQTs come to London to work every year- you need to look carefully at the demand and the various areas- London is a large and diverse place. generally most of the ITT providers are based in S London so these areas tend to be swamped with NQTs compared with the North and East. You need to look into living costs in the areas you are interested in- rental prices will vary and many boroughs will offer advice and information. Do ensure you apply on time as many of the central application pools close quite early - check out the blog on Getting your first teaching post on the student teacher pages.Most boroughs have their details on their websites and the NUT first post guide is a good source. In addition TES will be bringing out the NQT magazine shortly

4. cally1980

cally1980 Established commenter