1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Working for an L.A and no mention of AWR yet

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by fivepartharmony, Jan 19, 2012.

1. fivepartharmony

fivepartharmony New commenter

I have been working for the same LA for ten years on as a 'sessional tutor' in a Learning Centre. I have no paid holidays or sick leave but do have to be performanced managed, attend meetings( multi agency and CAF's) and complete assessments and reports.I have been waiting to hear that I will be entitled to better conditions but have not thus far.Anyone else in a similar situation?

2. fivepartharmony

I have been working for the same LA for ten years on as a 'sessional tutor' in a Learning Centre. I have no paid holidays or sick leave but do have to be performanced managed, attend meetings( multi agency and CAF's) and complete assessments and reports.I have been waiting to hear that I will be entitled to better conditions but have not thus far.Anyone else in a similar situation?

3. Why the concern about the AWR? when we have some excellent commentary from below:
    "...There has been much scaremongering about AWRs -just read the title to this particular forum!

IF
    supply teacher agencies want to behave and act in even
    more
    exploitative and malign ways by perversely
    interpreting/sacking/dismissing employees [supply teachers] so as to
    prevent them from benefitting from the terms and conditions e.g. sick
    pay, holiday pay. pay parity etc of their permanent/temporary contracted
    teacher work colleagues THEN BRING IT ON!!!!!!!

Existing UK laws include: the EMPLOYMENT ACT (2010) and the EQUALITY ACT (2010) and even the EU Human Rights can be evoked!
    Any