1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Working abroad as an NQT

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by he1a19, Dec 10, 2019.

1. he1a19

he1a19 New commenter

I am sure this question has been asked many times before, however I am still very new to this.

I am currently doing my teacher training in secondary science. As you can image the question of jobs is now starting to arise. I am at a point in my life where working abroad for a few years is a real possibility. I am looking at British Schools in the Middle East, particularly in Qatar.

So my questions are:

1. Is this a bad idea as an NQT?
    2. Are the benefits of working abroad as good as everyone says they are?
    3. Am I risking working away for a while having an impact on my career when I want to move back to the UK?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. TeacherMan19

TeacherMan19 Occasional commenter

1. Personally, it could be seen as beneficial to complete your NQT in England. You'll learn good practises and have timetabled support with union backing. Not always a guarantee to get that abroad. Some ME schools might take NQTs... I ways think it's because they'll be cheaper but I don't know.
    2. The benefits can be as good as they say. It depends what you're looking for when working abroad and where you go.
    3. A common question you'll come across on here when you ask that is:
    Do you want to work abroad if you're ready thinking of going home?
    Working abroad can enhance a CV for some heads and put some off. You're secondary science, you're pretty under demand and will be for a while!

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Yes, I have sent you one of those TES Conversation things, he1a19.