1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Work, work, work, work, work...

Discussion in 'Personal' started by rumanowski, Oct 8, 2016.

1. rumanowski

rumanowski New commenter

Dear All,

I am looking for a second job for the forthcoming half-term break but struggle to come up with any ideas.
    I used to work as a Deputy Head in a private SEMH school, now enjoying a much less-stressful work as a long-term supply teacher in a special school.

Any help or advice will be appreciated.
    Kind Regards
    Lucas

2. jacob

jacob Lead commenter

There are three "employment" agencies in the town where I live. There must be jobs, but I suspect (and have never looked) they are of the minimum wage/slave labour/long unsociable hours type. Lots of people work in the "chicken" factory but don't last long, but the population does love its ready meals.

3. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

Finding work for half term breaks can be tricky since most employers want someone who is going to stay for longer then a week, likewise the same applies to Christmas and Easter breaks since a large proportion of this is taken up by non-working Bank Holidays.

You might find more luck (as I have) picking up work during the longer Summer holiday since the longer 5 to 6 week period is more useful for an employer.

4. smoothnewt

smoothnewt Star commenter

Deleted - relevant to our local area only (I thought it was a national organisation).

5. slingshotsally

slingshotsally Star commenter

Have you signed up with reed and other employment agencies?

Perhaps just go and visit some industrial/enterprise estates to see if they might need someone to help during the half term when parents need to have time off for kids?