1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Work related stress: reduced hours = reduced pay? = more stress. Can they?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by superdupersenco, Apr 12, 2018.

1. superdupersenco

superdupersenco New commenter

Hi folks,
    Hope you are having a better holiday than me.
    I have been teaching since 1990. I think I know what I am doing, most of my children do really well, make jolly good progress etc. Age - 49. That "time of life" where hot flushes and the other 33 symptoms of menopause visit: fatigue, memory loss, fogginess etc etc.

I was told to take Y6 maths last July. "We know you get anxious but we think the challenge will be good for you".

It was tough; I had taught them in Y5 and they were a very good class with lots of progress (which she later said was why she wanted me to take them again) - I had not taught year 6 group/ level of maths with the new curriculum / mastery before. I was comfortable teaching the y5 groups. Regular working hours were already often 65+ for all the usual reasons. I was exhausted running to keep up/ahead of them- but we soldiered on.