1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Work Life Balance

Discussion in 'Personal' started by colmal4, Jun 8, 2012.

1. colmal4

colmal4 New commenter

Nearing the end of my first year as a teacher, I look back at a very successful start professionally. I have helped both departments that I work within at KS4 achieve improved headline figures, and will actually receive a TLR on my return, for which I am excited and delighted.

However...

I have worked harder than I have ever worked, and, potentially as a result, I have recently separated with my long term girlfriend, which I am absolutely gutted about.

I am worried about my work and my life. With recent events, I cant stop thinking about the following phrase:

"Working to Live, not Living to Work".

Someone, anyone, please say something that is going to make me feel better.

2. marymoocow

marymoocow Star commenter

Relationships are harder when one of you doesnt work in education as I think most non teaching partners think they will get someone with a nice cushy 9-3:00 job and lots of holidays. They often cant understand all the extra stuff and can resent it. Also they definately resent anything you have to buy out of your own pocket for resources etc. I think this is why many teachers are married to other teachers. I've been with my OH 25 years and we still have arguements about who works longer hours etc. He was quite shocked recently when I wrote down my FT hours. He is in a job himself that works at least 48 hrs a week, but I was doing 60hrs FT during term time with a TLR equivalent.

3. anon2799

anon2799 New commenter