1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Work Balance

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by Chatterbox1607, Sep 12, 2011.

1. Chatterbox1607

Chatterbox1607 New commenter

I am a new teacher just starting out and I know I do not have the work life balance that many people MAY have. I seem to always be working and have very little time to do anything with friends or my other half. How do you manage the work life balance and what tips would you share with me if you could turn back time or even what you do currently? Many thanks

2. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

It gets easier after a few years - that's all I can say really!

3. I agree, it really does get easier with time as you know where stuff is, how to plan things you know are likely to work, how to manage all sorts of situations that, when you're new, take more time to deal with. I think the NQT year is the toughest as you don't have the same level of support as when you were a student and you are expected, more or less, to do the same job as someone who has been doing it for years. I'd say to try not to 'over-do' work - sometimes doing something 'good enough' is just that - good enough. Do ask for help if you need it too - you are surrounded by people who are teachers and are generally keen to help people develop and support people. I don't think there's anything I could have done to make my NQT year easier, even with many years hindsight - but the knowledge that it does get easier might make it feel less exhausting?

4. jonowen

jonowen Occasional commenter

Hi Chatterbox, first of all congratulations on completing your degree and securing a job!