1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

WJEC Shakespeare/Poetry Comparison Controlled Assessment SEN Group. I am panicking!

Discussion in 'English' started by Kim40, Jan 26, 2011.

1. I am teaching a Year 10 group which comprises students with target grades of C-F. They are only doing English, so they are not following the plan for the other English groups. As this is the first time through, I am feeling a bit on my own with this.
    Although I am an experienced teacher, I am feeling a bit out of my depth preparing them for the controlled assessment. I would know exactly how to prepare them for old style Shakespeare coursework, but the demands of the controlled assessment have thrown me a little! Many of the students are dyslexic and others have language processing difficulties. Most are entitled to extra time and many can have readers or scribes.
    The issues I have are:
    How much help can I give them with their notes sheet?
    How can I help them to remember the content of the key scenes?
    How much analysis of language is expected for the C grade student to achieve their targets?
    How can I help those with erratic attendance?
    I would be very grateful for any help/advice from someone else doing this GCSe with SEN students.
    Apologies if this has already been covered!
    Thank you
    Kim

2. I am teaching a Year 10 group which comprises students with target grades of C-F. They are only doing English, so they are not following the plan for the other English groups. As this is the first time through, I am feeling a bit on my own with this.