1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

WJEC GCSE Sociology

Discussion in 'Social sciences' started by melanissa, Apr 2, 2012.

1. Hi all
    I'm starting a new post in Sep where I'll be leading Psychology and Sociology, and whilst my degree is in both I have only taught Psych at present.... I've chosen WJEC as a board, because the A Level spec in place is AQA (which I cannot change) so I wanted a course that would give some different topics to AQA A level should students choose to continue it - I know the emphasis and focus is slightly different but didn't want it to completely mirror the topics.
    I am wondering, because I've never taught for an exam where there are optional questions, whether choosing 2 topics out of the 4 for each paper is sufficient, or whether 3 would be better? My feeling is that 2 allows choice still but allows teaching to be in depth so as to allow them to be well prepared. Also then we can deliver 2 options that will flow onto the A level spec, but 2 different ones to keep the interest level, as then 2 of the A Level ones will be completely new to them.
    Does this sound about right for those of you better experienced than me?!
    Any advice/comments greatly appreciated!
    Thanks
    Mel

2. Hi all
    I'm starting a new post in Sep where I'll be leading Psychology and Sociology, and whilst my degree is in both I have only taught Psych at present.... I've chosen WJEC as a board, because the A Level spec in place is AQA (which I cannot change) so I wanted a course that would give some different topics to AQA A level should students choose to continue it - I know the emphasis and focus is slightly different but didn't want it to completely mirror the topics.