1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Withdrawal/Intervention Groups

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by alwaysbeengreen, Apr 29, 2012.

1. Hello :)
    I am a TA in year 5, which I started in September. I have been taking small groups of children every afternoon since September, who need support in reading, writing and numeracy.

This term the teachers have asked me to take 2 groups each afternoon, still taking the lower ability children, but also children of a higher ability who just need that extra bit of support.

I get one hour per week to plan for these sessions, and I was wondering if anyone has any advice on what sort of activities or resources I could use?

This is my first year working as a TA and whilst I feel I have a good relationship with the higher ability children, up to now other than occasionally supporting them during teacher-led lessons, and hearing them read I have not really had much to do with them, and I am at a bit of a loss as to how best to help them.

Whilst I have no doubt that the year group teachers would help me out, they're actually a bit too good to me and would find things for me to do with them, and I'd like to be able to do this for myself.

Any advice would be appreciated, thank you!

2. legoearth

legoearth New commenter