1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Wind and gravity as forces.

Discussion in 'Science' started by sara2323, Jan 31, 2011.

1. sara2323

sara2323 New commenter

I'm a PGCE student and am teaching forces in science (year 1). During a lesson today on 'wind as a force', with the outcome 'understand that it is not just ourselves that move things'. Previous lessons looked at pushes and pulls. The teacher highlighted that wind is not a force but an example of a push force, the next lesson is looking at gravity as a force- she has again highlighted that gravity is not a force but an example of a pull force and that there are only three forces, push, pull and twists.
    I have used the Scholastic 100 lessons book and the Acieving QTS standards handbook but none of them say that only pushes, pulls and twists are forces.
    It has not been noted that I am lacking subject knowledge, but before I teach my next lesson I want to be clear that she is right, however even when reseatching online and from my previous knowledge I can see that gravity is a force :-(

2. sara2323

sara2323 New commenter

I'm a PGCE student and am teaching forces in science (year 1). During a lesson today on 'wind as a force', with the outcome 'understand that it is not just ourselves that move things'. Previous lessons looked at pushes and pulls. The teacher highlighted that wind is not a force but an example of a push force, the next lesson is looking at gravity as a force- she has again highlighted that gravity is not a force but an example of a pull force and that there are only three forces, push, pull and twists.