1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Will they hire me...? Degree/experience query.

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by nicole01, Dec 15, 2015.

1. nicole01

nicole01 New commenter

Hi,

I am currently Assistant Director of English ( second in department KS4) at a challenging school in Birmingham. I have a BA (hons) in Language, Literacy and Communication and a Masters in Educational Leadership (as well as PGCE and QTS). I have been teaching successfully for 4 years since qualifying. I have always worked in challenging schools and have a good track record of raising attainment particularly in the school I at atm.

I am looking for a job either in Africa, South America or Oceania as an English teacher or Head of Department. However, I am a little concerned, as my degree is not English Literature or English Language, that I won't be hired. I'm also a little concerned that experience in challenging schools is not necessarily a good thing!

If anyone has any insight on this, it would be greatly appreciated. I may just be doubting myself but it would be good to know either way.

Thanks,

Nic

2. nicole01

nicole01 New commenter

Realise I've posted this in the wrong place! Not sure how to delete.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Never mind, we'll just all not reply to this thread!

4. SteveClark590

SteveClark590 New commenter