1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Will they hire me? Degree/experience enquiry

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by nicole01, Dec 15, 2015.

1. nicole01

nicole01 New commenter

Hi,

I am currently Assistant Director of English ( second in department KS4) at a challenging school in Birmingham. I have a BA hons in Language Literacy and Communication and a Masters in Educational Leadership (as well as PGCE and QTS). I have been teaching successfully for 4 years since qualifying. I have always worked in challenging schools and have a good track record of raising attainment particularly in the school I at atm.

I am looking for a job either in Africa, South America or Oceania as an English teacher or Head of Department. However, I am a little concerned that as my degree is not English Literature or English Language that I won't be hired. I'm also a little concerned that experience in challenging schools in not necessarily a good thing!

If anyone has any insight on this, it would be greatly appreciated. I may just be doubting myself but it would be good to know either way.

Thanks,

Nic

2. davidbowiefan

davidbowiefan Established commenter

Is your degree in Language Literacy or should there be a comma between the first two words? I'm afraid I have no idea what your degree entails and an employer may not know either. How would you teach a subject up to IB level if you don't have a degree in it, let alone work as a head of department overseeing the work of others in that subject?

3. TonyGT

TonyGT Established commenter