1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Will taking a degree module in French improve my employment prospects?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by rosetea, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Hi MFL teachers,

I'm currently a Secondary PCGE student, training to be an English teacher. I've found that the workload for my course -so far- hasn't been as monstous as I'd feared, and I've worked out that I can probably spare a few hours a week in the new year to study a foreign language. In some ways, the idea of learning something totally new appeals, and as I live in London I've found that there are a lot of beginners' evening language classes available both in FE colleges and higher education institutions, such as King's (and I'm a UoL graduate so I qualify for a reduced course fee there).
    I'm mostly wanting to do this just for my own enjoyment and benefit- and learning Italian or Russian really appeals. But I'm also thinking of my career, and as I've already got an A Level in French, and have spent some time living in France, I've thought about taking a module of a French degree - the O.U. offer one that sounds perfect. I should have time to do it as the final assessment is in the summer, when my PGCE will hopefully be finished. The only trouble is, it costs £850, which is quite a lot to part with. If I did decide to take the degree module, would it improve my employability prospects? Would schools be willing to let me loose on, say, KS3 or even KS4 kids? I should say that studying French to a higher level would also offer me a great deal of personal satisfaction, but I could more easily justify the cost if I thought it might help me get a job, too...