1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Will my gap year be a problem?

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by EBF, May 21, 2016.

1. EBF

EBF New commenter

Hello all,

I finished my degree (B.Ed Primary) in the June of 2015, officially qualifying in November of the same year. Roughly 2 weeks later I moved to New Zealand where I am currently working as an au pair. With half of my time over here, and discussions over extending my contract until February/March of 2017 I am now beginning to look into where to go next.

A large part of me wants to stay in NZ. I am lucky enough to be able to claim citizenship and have been told that my degree is convertible too, however, after reading about this subject I am under the impression that to teach in the UK at any time in the future, be it 5 or 10 years, I am better to do my NQT in the UK get some experience there and then move overseas at a later date. I am happy to do this.

My main concern is will I be successful getting a job in the UK. I understand that some employers will have wanted me to go straight to my NQT year but I personally felt like I needed a break from study and work before I settled down with a job, which I would stay in for at least a year if not longer. I was graded an outstanding in my final year placement and was awarded a 2:1 so I know I'm capable of being a good teacher. Will the fact that I have been abroad and missed two academic years be a huge problem?

2. John_in_Luton

John_in_Luton Occasional commenter