1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Will MPS6 count against me in applications?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by pinkpineapple, Feb 13, 2012.

1. Hi
    I have been teaching since 2005, but took 2.5 years out to have and look after two children between 2008-11. I decided it was time to go back last October as I was missing being in work, and had enough of changing nappies etc..
    I got a 0.4 maternity cover in a good school which I LOVE but which ends in June, and I'm now on the look out for a full time post from September. Nothing near enough to home has come up yet, but I am worrying in advance that because I am expensive (MPS6) I will be overlooked for NQTs. I think both my previous school and where I am now will give me a good reference, and I have experience of KS3,4 & 5 (lang and lit) (I'm secondary English). I have good A levels (As) and a 2:1 in English from a red brick uni. However, I have never taken on any responsibility, although I do think I am a good teacher and that my experience is valuable.
    Having had children already now (no more maternity leave needed), I am hoping to gain promotion in the next few years, either head of KS3 or 4, or even as an AST. However, none of this can happen if I can't get a job in the first place!
    How can I minimise the negative impact of being expensive?
    Thanks for any answers xx

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

As a secondary head, my preference has always been for experiened staff and wherever I've had applicants who are of proven quality, they've been appointed.