1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why Media Studies?

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by tartxcore, Jan 19, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone im currently doing a dissertation on Media Studies and why it is taught in schools/colleges, what values it has as a subject, im trying to prove in my dissertation that media is certainly no 'Mickey Mouse' subject.

I would like the views of professionals who teach the subject on these issues and any more you want to raise about the subject. =]
    I have taken media studies from GCSE right up to degree level and have just been accepted onto a PGCE for September so I can teach it. As a media student I believe media builds alot more skills than people give it credit for as it involves aspects of english, sociology, design.
    I look forward to what everyone else thinks!!
    =] Becci

2. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

There's a rather nice quotation from an academic at the turn of the twentieth century criticising the introduction of English Literature in state schools. It goes along the lines of this new-fangled subject only being suitable for women and those unworthy sorts of men who become school teachers. The academic in question was defending the teaching of only classical (ie Greek and Roman) literature, and he was defending his position against encroachment from this new and debased form of literacy.