1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why is teaching a good career again?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by wibble2510, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Hi everyone
    i'm feeling a bit rubbish at the moment and I am trying to remember why I gave up my job to become a teacher.
    Can anyone help me out by telling me what they love about teaching and why its a great job?
    Thanks (sorry to be a debbie downer!)

2. Hi everyone
    i'm feeling a bit rubbish at the moment and I am trying to remember why I gave up my job to become a teacher.
    Can anyone help me out by telling me what they love about teaching and why its a great job?
    Thanks (sorry to be a debbie downer!)

3. Hi
    I am an NQT PE teacher. Although I spend almost my entire life involved in school work, I love the job and seeing kids achieve skills and performances that they never felt possible, is just brilliant. There is also a real sense of achievement when a group that were initially highly problematic start behaving and working well as a result of strategies that you have put into action.

It is a tough job but if you are keen to become a teacher, keep up the work and good luck.

4. I understand where you're coming from - I gave up a good job with bonuses 15 years ago to be a teacher.
    It has been great for me over the years - I've been able to see my kids grow up and be with them in the holidays - not because I don't work long hours but because I can work after they've gone to bed.
    The rewards in the classroom have been great.