1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why do we do what we do?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Shabas, Jan 19, 2011.

1. Just feeling a little disheartened about why i am a teacher. I have been teaching nearly 16 years and have just moved schools. I work on a part time basis, and am trying to do a good job at school and also run the family home. Teaching at this new school is proving to be a negative experience being criticised at every turn (by senior leadership) - my class and parents are great. I have worked nearly full time trying to sort the classroom out that i have inherited. We were subject to a learning walk and given poor feedback and told to just get it done!! I can't work any harder - laminating every night, putting up displays in the afternoon etc. Is the job worth continuing with - seriously debating whether to go on supply. Any words of wisdom/encouragement? PLEASE!!

2. Just feeling a little disheartened about why i am a teacher. I have been teaching nearly 16 years and have just moved schools. I work on a part time basis, and am trying to do a good job at school and also run the family home. Teaching at this new school is proving to be a negative experience being criticised at every turn (by senior leadership) - my class and parents are great. I have worked nearly full time trying to sort the classroom out that i have inherited. We were subject to a learning walk and given poor feedback and told to just get it done!! I can't work any harder - laminating every night, putting up displays in the afternoon etc. Is the job worth continuing with - seriously debating whether to go on supply. Any words of wisdom/encouragement? PLEASE!!

3. choralsongster

choralsongster New commenter