1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why do teaching job ads never show the pay?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Julian7, Nov 26, 2011.

1. I currently work in IT but my wife is a new teacher. When I look at job ads for myself I expect to see the salary being offered. This avoids me looking at jobs that I would never consider. It also indicates the level of the job being advertised and the expectations of the employer.

However, when I look at teaching ads on behalf of my wife, I rarely see pay quoted. I've just looked at some TES job ads at random. The first (an independent school) says "an attractive package is available subject to qualifications and experience". The second (a state school) says "Teacher Scale: £23,024 - £38,722 AST/SLT scale: £38,722 - £55,466", which is no more helpful due to the large range. Others say nothing about pay at all.

Why is this? Do teachers apply for jobs before they know what the pay will be? Is there an informal phone call before applying? Do schools pay whatever the applicant asks?

I'd be interested to hear people's comments on this.

2. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter