1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why do pupils choose to misbehave?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by katiejanedix, Feb 19, 2014.

1. I am a student teacher currently completing an assignment looking into what factors influence pupils to misbehave.

It would be much appreciated if experienced teachers could share their views on why pupils misbehave.

2. idk

idk

So many reasons that it's impossible to give a definitive answer. For every 10 students who misbehave there are 10 reasons why. But there is always a reason for behaviour. It's just not always solvable in a big busy school. Just my two pennorth...

3. Thank you for your reply.

4. Zadok1

Zadok1 New commenter

I think that if you start from the premis that all children essentially want to learn and want to be liked... you have to look at the reasons for a child to remove themselves from that start point.

If you had a class full of children who come from settled, happy, supportive homes then the misbehaviour of some children would probably be rooted in boredom. Children like to play, even 15 year old children, and many of the things that they see as 'play' are not compatible with the average classroom... throwing things, making people laugh, drawing funny pictures and generally chatting and laughing.