1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

WHY DID YOU WANT TO BECOME A NURSERY TEACHER questions and shared experiences

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Janelaneplane, Jul 14, 2015.

1. Hello-

I am thinking about dong a PGDE in early years with a view to becoming a nursery teacher. I have some experience at a primary school lined up for next year but nothing with reception as yet so I am trying to find out as much information as i can on here to see what people thinking about being a nursery teacher- if you have the time to answer any of these questions it would be most helpful!

What drew you to this age group?

what do you think are the biggest challenges of working in a nursery today?

Are there any patricualr challenges SCOTTISH teachers face you can mention?

What are the best things about your job?

What are the worst things?

Are there other job routes you would think about pursuing if you decided to leave this profession-

if they are related to childcare what might they be?

Do you feel that you get to bond with the children in nursery or do you feel your role is more adminastrative and the teaching assistants get to enjoy their time with the children more?

Can you work part time as a nursery teacher and follow other interests in your life- such as making art?

Do you have any opinions on Montessori/ steiner education

If there are any good blogs/posts you think might be relevant to me that you have the time to pass on at all that would be amazing!

Thank you so much!

:)

ps sorry for spelling mistakes i cannot work out how to edit and go back on this forum thing

Are there

2. rosiecg

rosiecg Occasional commenter

Hi - have put my answers under your questions....