1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why can I still not get an interview?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by lauraee66132, Jan 4, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I qualified to teach secondary science in June last year and have had major problems getting so much as an interview, which really frustrates me as I'm a great teacher and people I know who are not have managed to make themselves sound good enough on paper to manage to get something!

A certain amount, I am allowing to be sheer volume of applications (the last job I got an interview for had 72 applicants) but some of it has to be my letter of application. When I was doing my PGCE my tutor, the uni careers service, a friend of mine (who is a teacher) and the professional mentor at my final placement school all looked at my letter and gave me different advice, now I don't know which way to look!

At the moment, I'm following the format (suggested by the CM):

1. Why I want THIS job
    2. 3 things about teaching that I am particularly interested in/that I find particularly important
    3. A brief summary including some of my personal interests and how they can serve the whole school

All of my letters are written from scratch - no copy/pasting from previous letters, addressed to the head teacher personally and professionally laid out.

Where am I going wrong??

(apologies if my paragraphs don't turn out - they don't always)

2. Hi all,

I qualified to teach secondary science in June last year and have had major problems getting so much as an interview, which really frustrates me as I'm a great teacher and people I know who are not have managed to make themselves sound good enough on paper to manage to get something!