1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why are Foundation Stage Units "good practice"?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by adnarim, Mar 19, 2011.

1. Does anyone have a convincing reason to explain why Foundation Stage Units are 'good practice'?

I work as an F1 teacher in a unit with 36 / 36 F1 children and 60 F2 children. During our 'unit' times 'practitioners" (teachers and support staff) are told exactly where they have to go by the Unit leader. Teachers are also told what areas they are allowed to plan - this may be work that will only ever be carried out by other people, and they will also have to carry out work set by other teachers.

My role as a teacher during these times is nothing more than being a stall holder in a given area. I am expected to write 3 reports a year on each child, carry out a Learning Journey with photographs and quotes on 12 children, yet I don't feel I can ever really get to know the children beyond our daily 15 minute key worker session, let alone the others who are not my Key children.

I can't see any particular benefits for the children in this kind of set up, especially for the younger ones, and I feel very deskilled as a teacher. Worryingly, Ofsted really liked the way that they couldn't tell the difference between teachers and support staff.

Whenever I have questioned the rationale for a Unit I have only ever been told "because it's good practice" but no one seems to be able to explain why this is so.

2. sadika

sadika New commenter