1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Why am I still her?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by BelleDuJour, May 4, 2011.

1. BelleDuJour

BelleDuJour Star commenter

I've been a supply teacher for almost 4 years, and never out of work.
    In September I go back to a permanent post in a delightful inmdependent school.
    This term I'm on supply in a school in special measures.
    It is the worst school I've ever been in (and beleieve me, I;ve been in some **** holes!) Yesterday I was in tears over the blatant refusal to even sit in a seat by some year 8s. The defiance shown here is superceded only when they ignore you completely.
    There's an 'on call' system but no-one ever comes!
    Today I had a lovely year 7 lesson, then year 9 were so foul I had to walk out and take some time out.
    I don't want to be here. I've talked to my agency and they fully understand and support me. My husband says 'go'. But I'm not a quitter and SMT have persuaded me both yesterday and today to stay.
    Why do I let them persuade me to stay? I should be back home now. I don't need to do this. I don't have to put up with this insurgence.
    I am paid to teach but I can't teach.
    Am I a wimp to want to go, but too much of a wimp to do so?
    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr..........rant over!

2. BelleDuJour

I've been a supply teacher for almost 4 years, and never out of work.
    In September I go back to a permanent post in a delightful inmdependent school.
    This term I'm on supply in a school in special measures.