1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

whole day music event - any ideas?

Discussion in 'Music' started by dropje, May 18, 2012.

1. dropje

dropje New commenter

I have been asked to create a music event for a year group for a whole day.
    180 kids. Yr7 8 and 9.
    I am flummoxed. I have never done this before. Any ideas? I am in secondary.
    I thought about a 1 day musical. 6 groups of 30, 12 groups of 15? A lot of staff needed already (and equipment). Perhaps it needs to be over 2 days.

2. dropje

dropje New commenter

I have been asked to create a music event for a year group for a whole day.
    180 kids. Yr7 8 and 9.
    I am flummoxed. I have never done this before. Any ideas? I am in secondary.
    I thought about a 1 day musical. 6 groups of 30, 12 groups of 15? A lot of staff needed already (and equipment). Perhaps it needs to be over 2 days.

3. Get some outside providers in to provide a carousel of workshops. Be sure to include my African drumming workshops, naturally, if you are within 100 miles of my base in Yorkshire! And maybe some samba, some opera workshops, some fun singing sessions, some beat-boxing, rap, boomwhackers ... And do a few in-house: Tune some guitars to a chord and have a battle of the (scratch) bands... Collect some weird instruments and have a taster workshop (theramin, musical saw, berimbau, tank drum, whatever)and last but not least, a karaoke contest. You will hate that, but they will love it.
    b.ayengio@yahoo.co.uk

4. bod99

bod99 New commenter