1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Who will go EYPS or QTS ?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Hedda Gabler, Nov 17, 2010.

1. On the other hand, someone with QTS can also be used as a class teacher, I don't think an EYP would be able to do that. So they have more flexibility with QTS people, even if they might be a bit more expensive

2. It's in favour of people with just EYPS and not QTS though, as it is removing the need for professionals to have both qualifications in a children's centre. In school, QTS is needed, true, but it relaxes the demand for children's centres to employ a 'teacher.'

3. I don't think that a QTS is just a bit more expensive than an EYPS onlymemebr of staff. I think that an EYPS has no formal payscale so could earn a third to half less than an experienced QTS ? That is quite a saving in particular if EYPS is employed to work all year and does not get the school holidays.

4. Msz

Msz Established commenter

There isn't the need to have both qualifications yet...

5. From the dept article cited above
    Evidence clearly demonstrates the positive impact of high-quality staff on the outcomes of children. Ministers trust frontline professionals to use their local knowledge and professional judgement to decide how to use the available evidence to determine the appropriate level of graduate support across their Early Years settings. Removing the requirement for professionals in Sure Start children's centres in the most disadvantaged areas to have both Qualified Teacher and Early Years Professional status will mean they have the flexibility to make better use of the resources available to them.

6. Msz

Msz Established commenter