1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Who pays for resourcing

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by adurling, Jan 27, 2019.

?

Who pays for resources?

1. Me

7 vote(s)
    53.8%
  2. Parents

2 vote(s)
    15.4%
  3. Both

4 vote(s)
    30.8%
  1. adurling

adurling New commenter

Hi,

My first time posting here, I have been a tutor alongside teaching (primary) for many years but this year have switched to self-employed, full-time tutoring. I homeschool two local families, as they have £10+ hours a week from me I give them a significant discount (£20 an hour for two children rather than £35+). I have provided all resources so far apart from a couple of reading books I asked them to have a copy of. They are both coming up for the +11 exams and I want them to have the bond books etc needed.

I wondered what other peoples experiences are of resourcing. Do you provide everything? What is it ok to ask parents to provide?

I am finding that I am currently spending just under a quarter of my earnings on funding my business at the moment (including petrol) is this similar to other peoples experience?

Thank you in advance for any help! It is all greatly appreciated!

Abby

2. martin-batten

martin-batten New commenter

Hi

I provide everything. I add the cost of resource into the fee . With my 11+ Students, I give them to option of buying their own books for when we use them.

3. phatsals

phatsals Occasional commenter

No, I wouldn't dream of providing books, parents can resource those. I do provide online resources that I pay for and give tutees access to. These are particularly useful as I can analyse their work, without wasting valuable tuition time.

4. gainly

gainly Established commenter