1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Which would you choose?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by hana54, Oct 26, 2019.

1. hana54

hana54 New commenter

Hi all, hoping you can help me make a decision because I’m going round in circles! Quite a long post- sorry!

Just to give you a bit of back story... I’m a teacher, I was working in a school until I had my first son. I then found the work/life balance incredibly hard and left. Since then I have been doing private tutoring from my home. I love teaching, I’m good at teaching, but it did cause me quite a bit of stress.

I’ve come to a time now in my life where I would like to start progressing in my career. Like buses, three opportunities have come along at once!

1) A teaching job has become available. 2 days a week at a local school. I’m passionate about teaching but am a bit anxious at the thought of going back.

2) A job has become available with my local council, coordinating SEND operations. A little out of my comfort zone, but it seems like an interesting role and one I think I’d enjoy.

3) An opportunity has come up that would allow me to grow my tutoring business. This is something I’ve dreamt about for a while and I have so many ideas BUT it would involve me taking out a small loan- there’s more financial uncertainty than being employed.

Which would you choose? I’ve been over and over the options in my head and I’m none the wiser. Any opinions/experiences would be gratefully received! Thanks

2. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

Number one.
    It's bread on the table and it's not every day and it's close to home so it will keep you buoyant without too much stress.