1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

which way forward to a career with children doing art and play?

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by Janelaneplane, Jul 13, 2015.

1. I am an artist and love working with children which I have done in the past in art workshops at museums and galleries and holiday clubs, but I would like to be able to get a long term job working with children and have been considering applying for a PGDE in early years ( I live in Glasgow) with a view to becoming a nursery teacher.

Howveer several memebers of my family who have been or are working as teachers currently have advised me against becoming a primary teacher and think I would be more suited to teaching assistant work or play work because my strengths lie in talking to children, spending time with them and doing hands on creative activities which they dont they I would really get to do as the nursery teacher.

However I am a little confused as to which way to go- I have a degree in fine Art and good GCSES before this, but Im not sure an NVQ would be challenging enough for me if it is aimed at school leavers with C grade minimum. This is not to say that those students are not intelligent, I dont believe that intelligence can be measured by school grades only and infact find alot of testing and marking a complex subject im not sure about...

Basically what qualifications do I need to become a teaching assistant? If anyone knows anything about the Scottish system in particular that would be great as I have just moved here.

Are there any teaching assistants out there who wished they had done an Early years pgce/de instead of NVQ and had more flexibility with roles they could take on?