1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Which union to join?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by tobychainsaw, Mar 19, 2012.

1. From my experience, if you're in a salaried full time post, then the best union is the NASUWT. However, if you're supply or not in a "proper job" then they're the worst.

2. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

3. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

still with the nasuwt as they were helpful to me a few years ago, but as a supply teacher my subs are increasingly looking to be a waste of scarce cash.
    At the least they should offer us a reduced rate as we are all effectively part time!

4. supplybychoice

supplybychoice New commenter

The NUT do offer reduced rates for part time teachers. I've told them I do less than 0.3 of a full timer which makes the subs a lot cheaper.

5. You a tory?

6. The NUT was the only union that opposed the Remodelling Agreement 2003 that allowed HLTAs and Cover Supervisors take classes.

7. Which union to join?

None. Why do you need a communist pimp telling you what to think?

8. Oz, no I'm not a Tory. I'm an anti-political class libertarian.

My above comment was that unions do not deserve our money or our support having given us nothing at all (supply) when we were getting our jobs stolen by pedestrians. I would extend my lack of support to our contracted comrades as well. In it together....clearly not.

9. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

do you have an alternative arrangement for legal support as and when you might need it?
    In the current climate I would not step into a classroom without it

10. This is a bogeyman. As long as you are not guilty, you should be ok.

11. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

well good luck with that then