1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Which job should I seek after teaching?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Getzlaf2007, Jun 20, 2013.

1. Getzlaf2007

Getzlaf2007 New commenter

Hi all,

I posted on here a few weeks ago that I had gone to 3 interviews and failed them all. Been teaching for over 10 years and I need to go and do another job now as I am stuck in a rut forever. I can't seem to move on in my career, can't get through interviews, not liked at my current school and I am losing the will with everything. All the newer teachers at my school have been promoted and I am never one of them. I always get looked over, I am not good at this job and I need to sought a different career. I am just so unhappy that I cried this week when I got home due to my situation. What could I train up to do with my teaching skills?. I need to find a job that I can do and teaching is not that job. I chose the wrong career and I want to start again with a new career. Please, offer some suggestions. Time for me to get planning for my second career that can hopefully take me to retirement!. Teaching isn't for me. I can't teach or lead anything so must get out of this job as soon as I can. Thank you :)

2. 576

576 Established commenter

It's really hard to say as we don't know you but ask yourself the following

Does your subject lend itself to a particular field of work? You could explore those options.

Do you still want to work with children?

You could look at education roles in charities.

What other skills / experience do you have?

Do you work better in a group or independently?

Do you want 9-5 and every day's the same or something more diverse?