1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Which Humanities Masters?!

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by tomwardell, Jul 26, 2016.

?

Which Masters?

1. History

50.0%
  2. Religious Studies

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Other

50.0%
  1. tomwardell

tomwardell New commenter

Hi,

I'm currently a secondary school teacher. I have a 1st Class Hons degree in Music but have been teaching Humanities since my second year of teaching. I will be teaching a timetable with the majority of Humanities next academic year. This is something I want to develop and further progress down.

I currently teach A Level Religious Studies and KS3/GCSE History (both of which I have an A Level in). I am interested in pursuing a Masters in one of these Hums subjects for CPD and enhance subject knowledge. My overall aim is to become Head of Hums Faculty.

I'm interested in seeing which Masters people feel would be more beneficial. I feel more confident and enjoy RS more and would probably do better on it. However, with the squeeze on subject choice and the Ebacc severely affecting things, I feel like the History might be best suited for the future. It would also open up the flexibility for A Level History.

Or is there something/any courses that might encompass areas of both?!

Any help would be great!!

2. DrEmmaKell

DrEmmaKell New commenter

I used to be Masters tutor in my school. It's a fabulous step to take, but requires significant extra commitment, so it's important that a) you're entirely passionate about your chosen area and b) it fits in with your existing school priorities and enhances the job you do anyway.