1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Where to begin in proposing Media Studies?

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by ryu22, Nov 30, 2011.

1. I've just started my first year of teaching Engish. As I've only just entered the profession I wanted to know how I should go about researching and proposing Media Studies in the future as it has become a subject I have become really passionate about and it's a project I could really sink my teeth into (once I have got some experience behind me of course!) I heard that a while ago the school were really pressuring the English Department to set up Media Studies but the Head of Department is very traditional and managed to get his way. Since then I believe the pressure has diminished due to the new goverment (as it's not looked on favourably as subjects go and I'm guessing is quite an expensive subject to set up.) I could start things off with a Media Club but as it stands my school has no cameras or software to support this. Who would I go to in order to get the ball rolling?
    Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!