1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Where is the best place to look for a post overseas?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by svxenos, Oct 27, 2015.

1. svxenos

svxenos New commenter

Hello,

I'm a UK trained EYFS teacher who's going to work overseas by hook or by crook next year. I've a few basic questions I'm hoping someone will be kind enough to answer.

-Where is the best place to look for a post? On TES? On Eteach? Should I go to a jobs fair? There seem to be a lot of fairs out there (based on a google search!), but they expect you to pay - which one should I go to?

-Is getting work through an agency as horrible as it is being a supply teacher in the UK - i.e, where the pay and conditions aren't great, you don't get much support from the agency and the school sees you as disposable?

-I'm going overseas for a number of reasons, but one is that I'm looking for a better work/life balance. Is this a myth? (I'd go anyway, I reckon ;-) )

TIA

2. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

Lots of these have been answered before so you're not likely to get a lot of responses. I'll tell you as much as I can.

Jobs - look on TES, also think about some of the places you might like to live and see what schools there are hiring. Check school websites and apply there. Job fairs are good though I've not been to one. ECIS and Search are the ones I have heard of the most from colleagues.

From what I've read on here from others, perhaps avoid agencies. There are better options.