1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Where do I start?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Darthteacher, Dec 28, 2016.

1. Darthteacher

Darthteacher New commenter

I am sure this forum receives questions similar to mine. Currently I am working in the USA (I'm from the UK). I've been teaching here for over 10 years. I gained employment through contacting the schools directly when I was visiting.
    Now it looks like immigration constraints are going to force me to very reluctantly leave the USA in June. :(

I still wish to live and teach abroad, but I have no clue how to do it. I've heard there are agencies you go though to seek employment in teaching. I don't know the names of these organizations or how to contact them?
    I'm posting some questions below, thank you very much for replying to my queries:

1. What are the contact websites for teaching overseas agencies?

2. Is going through an agency a good way to earn a significant amount of money (I've been barely making ends meet in the USA)

3. What countries have you worked in and did you enjoy the experience?

4. What pitfalls should I avoid when applying and working abroad.

Thanks you so much for any advice given
    Mike

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Dear Mike,

My advice would be to send one of those "Conversation" things to a smelly old hippopotamus. This ancient and wrinkled beast has been known to help one or two people.

3. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper